• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,097 posts
  • Discord ID:Morg#0412
  • GW2 User ID:Shinsetsuu.2849
  • Invoker Morrighan
  • Guild:[DIE]
  • Race:Sylvari
  • Class:Revenant

Hello, FA. For a while I've been thinking of building a PC as my next upgrade from my aging laptop. However, I'm completely new to the process and was wondering if I could gain any feedback/tips.

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/tZMDTW is my current goal. I've got a Win8.1 code already, as well as all peripherals (may want to buy a 2nd monitor + an SSD later on).

I would be using my computer to:

• Play + stream/record GW2 and other games (hoping to future-proof a bit)
  • Video editing/rendering
  • Normal student activities

Should I aim for lower/higher specs, any serious flaws? Thanks!

Edit: am poor college student skimping where possible makes my wallet hurt less

Posted Image

Faulty Krew

Faulty Krew

Tech Support

• FA Member
  • 747 posts
  • GW2 User ID:guppysb.8524
  • Kon Charr Castrator
  • Guild:[PVP]
  • Race:Asura
  • Class:Necromancer

Morg, please list your budget and what you already have. Because that is not the best choice. I can help you with everything and pretty sure Higgins can too.

What I mean by list what you have already is , like cd drive HDD, maybe a case so on and so forth. If you do not then just list budget.

Posted ImagePosted Image

Faulty Krew

Faulty Krew

Tech Support

• FA Member
  • 747 posts
  • Kon Charr Castrator

Btw , try this  http://pcpartpicker.com/p/cPJGNG

• Morg likes this
Posted ImagePosted Image

Morg

Morg

Heretic

• Guild Officer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,097 posts
  • Invoker Morrighan

Partswise, nothing. Budget is 600-850 USD

Edit: looks pretty solid budgetwise, I wasn't sure of i5's generation differences after Ivy Bridge or of graphics cards in general. SSD is certainly something I've been looking to pick up, but I might buy later so I can get my machine assembled asap. Trying to play on my current setup makes me want to vomit lol

Posted Image